Riding the Nilgiri Mountain Railway

Though I missed getting a train ride in my previous post, I thought I’ll share some pictures of Nilgiri Railway Mountain from my visit years ago. It will give the readers an idea about my short ride from Ooty to Coonor, and hopefully inspire them to try it out as well. There are four (if I am not wrong) toy trains in India…Kalka-Shimla Route, Mumbai-Matheran route, Darjeeling route and of course Nilgiri. I’ve done two out of four and after posting this, would love to do all four. In fact, I would like to even redo the ones I’ve done already. That will be a nice write up, don’t you think? Anyone up for this journey?

Steamy!

All Aboard!

The Queen of South Indian Railway Network

Ooty to Mettapalayam

Passing through Luvdale

...and endless forests

Rivers and waterfalls....yikes!

...and bends and turns

Numerous Tunnels

Soon...we left it all behind

Reached my destination Coonoor

Long wait for the train back to Ooty

This entry was published on April 21, 2012 at 09:48. It’s filed under India, Photography, Railways, Travel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

13 thoughts on “Riding the Nilgiri Mountain Railway

  1. wonderful to see

  2. Some great shots and info, thanks. I particularly liked photo No 6.

    • Thank you for your comment. I remember taking that picture…we were passing through a village, and there were people walking next to the track. It took 3-4 shots to get the right composition. Chrs!

  3. Very nice shoots! Seems like such a vivid place to visit! I am kind of envious now =) Keep up the good work!

  4. Darshana on said:

    While watching these pictures, you actually get a feel that you are traveling through those routes. Thanks for sharing your wonderful journey with us. 🙂

    • Thanks Darshana. I am glad that you feel that you are traveling with my pictures and words. Please do visit these railways in real as well. The feeling is multiplied many times.

  5. I really like your photos ….
    very nice … ^ _ ^
    😀
    hopefully can learn from you .. Greetings from me

    • Thank you for your comment and I appreciate you remarks. The best way to learn photography is to go outdoors and take pictures! Nothing teaches you better than nature!

      • Thank you …. ^ _ ^

      • Hi, its looks like you have subscribed to my secondary blog “happenings of RT50′. It is a blog about a group of friends who like to party and also contribute to a social cause. May I please request you to unfollow this blog…my primary blog is ghummakkad and thats where the action is! 🙂

  6. Thanks for taking me on this journey. Great pictures telling such a vivid story!

Leave a Reply

